SCHOOL BOARD NEWS

The Haywood County Board of Education met in regular session Monday, May 10, 2010 and took the following action:

Chairman Francis called on Mr. Rogers to give the invocation and lead in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chairman Francis announced that the Haywood County Board of Education is accepting applications from individuals who seek appointment to the Haywood Community College Board of Trustees. Individuals seeking this appointment must apply by application and/or resume. Applications are available at the Haywood County Schools' Central Office and may be hand delivered or mailed to the attention of Chuck Francis, Chairman - Haywood County Board of Education - 1230 North Main Street - Waynesville, NC 28786. The application deadline is 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 25th.

Chairman Francis announced several upcoming school and system-wide events. The HCS Art Show will be held Sunday, May 16th 12:00 noon – 3:00 p.m. at Clyde Elementary Gymnasium; Partners In Education Dinner will be held Monday, May 24th at 6:00 p.m. at the Lambuth Inn; and the End of Year Employee Celebration is scheduled for Monday, May 31st at 4:00 p.m. (dinner at 5:00 p.m.) at the Haywood County Fairgrounds. A School Board Retreat is scheduled for Wednesday, May 26th 4:00pm-8:00pm at the Education Center in Clyde. The next regular Board meeting will be held Monday, June 14, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. at the Education Center in Clyde.

An agenda adjustment included an item from the Buildings and Grounds committee regarding property adjacent to Meadowbrook Elementary.

Steve Brown, HCS Foundation Director, recognized the following School Checkbook Winners: David Vertrees, Overall Winner, received a 10 inch mini laptop and 2nd place winner Glenn Campbell won a \$100 gift card. Jon Johnson, teacher at Tuscola High School, won the 90% participation drawing and received a 10 inch mini laptop.

Tuscola High and Waynesville Middle PeaceJam groups gave a presentation to the Board. Students addressing the Board were: Meagan Holsey, Karissa Black, Brandi Peavey, Dale Koontz, Max Pollifrone, Ann Kram, Tisha Carver, Brennan Langdale, and Corbon Williams. The students were accompanied by sponsors, Jessica Sparks and Frank Pollifrone. The group of students shared their experience at the FSU Southeast PeaceJam Conference. They spent the weekend with Novel Laureate Rigoberta Menchu Tum and 400 youth from across the Southeast, making a presentation explaining their Stop Hunger Now impact on World Hunger. Four of the students went to WCU last summer and spoke to 45 Jamaican teachers. As a result their Stop Hunger Now program has gone international and the campaign has started in Jamaica. The group recognized Dr. Vicki Faircloth of Western Carolina University for her partnership in bringing this program to Haywood County Schools.

Lee Messer was recognized as a Western Carolina University Peak Performer.

Debbie Scavelli addressed the Board during Open Session to express her concerns regarding the DOT proposed traffic changes at the end of Hall Drive at Jonathan Valley Elementary School.

Approved April 5, 2010 closed and regular session minutes and April 22, 2010 Public Hearing minutes.

Heard a Law Conference update from Jimmy Rogers.

Approved the following revised Board policies: SA-13 Student Accountability; SA-09 Student Pregnancies; and A-31 Safe Schools.

Tabled the following policies until the next regular meeting to allow for public input: C-01 Graduation Requirements and P-19 Personnel Selection.

Larry Smith addressed the Board and gave an overview of the Fiscal Year 2010-2011 Governor's Proposed State Budget.

Approved the purchase of approximately 2 acres of land adjacent to Meadowbrook Elementary for \$50,000.

Approved the QSCB Resolution to apply for the Qualified School Construction Bond in the amount of \$4,415,922 to be funded by lottery revenues to build a new resource building at Waynesville Middle School.

Approved financial reports, individual school reports, local, state and federal revisions and federal and state amendments.

Heard the following personnel items and took action as necessary:

Name	Position	School	Effective	
Audrey Dale Green	Bus Driver	BES	1/27/10	
Lisa Nelson	Teacher Asst/Sec.	HWD	7/01/10	
Twila Medford	Lead Teacher	MBK	7/01/10	
Brenda East	Teacher Asst/Bus	HWD	7/01/10	
Darla Metcalf	Secretary	THS	3/19/10	
Shelly Southerland	After Sch Program	BES	5/31/10	
Phillip Hightower	Custodian	CES	4/30/10	
Aleasa Messer	After Sch Worker	CLY	5/07/10	
Kle'shea Layman	Child Nutr.	WMS	5/06/10	
Marsha Kaye Beall	Teacher	JUN	9/01/10	

Separation from Employment

Status Change

Name	From	School	То	Effect
Paula Price*	Bus/SFS	THS	Cafeteria – Fulltime SFS	4/06/10
Jacob Leatherwood*	Custodian	BES	Maintenance – Roaming Custodian	4/19/10
Vickie Queen*	Bus Sub	BES	Fulltime Bus Driver BES rplcg S.Swanger	4/05/10
Nicole Hoyle*	Teacher	HWD	Add After-School/Summer Care Prgr Wrkr	6/21/10
Shawn Parris*	Lead Tchr-JVE	PHS	Asst Prin Replacing H. Cochran	7/01/10
Anna Williams	Asst Principal WMS/CLY	WMS	Fulltime Asst.Principal-WMS- rplc M. Cope	7/01/10
Stephanie Goodwin*	Teacher-JVE	THS	Assistant Principal - Replacing P. Justice	7/01/10
Mathew Haney*	Voc. Teacher	CMS	CMS Asst. Principal – replacing S. Savage	7/01/10
Kathleen Morgan	Speech	CES	Hazelwood Replcng R. Massie transfer	8/15/10
Rebecca Massie	Speech	HWD	Riverbend Replacing A. Collins resignation	8/15/10

*salary change

Leave of Absence

Employee	Position	School	Effect. from	To-RTW
Amber Porter	Sci. Teacher	THS	4/10/10	6/07/10
Joseph Pandolfi	Custodian/Bus	RES	4/7/10	6/30/10
Kim Serenius	Lead Teacher	CLY	5/01/10	8/16/10
Cindy Bryant	BenchTech	ITC	7/8/10	9/30/10
Brenda Wheeler	Child Nutr.	BES	4/11/10	7/01/10
Lloyd LaFountaine	Custodian	NCE	3/22/10	6/17/10
Rhonda Hargrove	Secretary	THS	4/19/10	6/15/10

Employment

Name	Position	Sch	Reason	Effect
Melinda Rogers	Sch Psychlgt	CMS	Replacing Kris Wiggins resigned	8/16/10
Haylee Willett	Interim Teacher	JUN	Sub for L. Noland maternity leave	4/20/10
Josh Parton	Bus Driver	THS	Replacing P. Price	4/06/10
Cynthia Simson	Guid. Secretary	THS	Replacing D. Metcalf	4/26/10
Tommy Laws	Custodain	CES	Replacing P. Hightower	5/03/10

Faith Newell	Temp TA/tutor	HWD	New Temp Position – Title 1 funds	5/03/10
April Laws	Child Nutrition	PHS Part-time rplcng Christi M.Sorrells		4/06/10
Billy Tessinaire	Custodian	THS	Fulltime rplcng D. James Transfer	5/10/10
John Weppel	Temp TA	WMS	New Position – Temp Teacher Asst	4/19/10
Phillip Pressley	Asst. Principal	THS	Replacing J. Heinz	7/01/10
Roland Waters	Custodian	PHS	Replacing Harold Medford	5/10/10

Non-School Therapist

Name	School	Purpose	Effective
Devona Finley	HWD	Non-sch Therpst -Mt. Youth Resources	5/10/10

Substitutes

Name	Status	Position
Robert Cooper	Non-Certified	Substitute Teacher
Judy Johnson	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Stephanie Ott	Certified	Substitute Teacher
Elaine Sellers	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Minnie Rash	Bus	Bus Substitute
Linda Massie	Non-certified	Substitute Teacher
Amanda Lanning	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Gary Kelly	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Angela Croft	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Suzanne Inman	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Minnie Rash	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute
Suzanne Inman	Child Nutrition	CN Substitute

Shawn Parris, Stephanie Goodwin and Mathew Haney addressed the Board and thanked them for the opportunity to serve as Assistant Principals.