SCHOOL BOARD NEWS

The Haywood County Board of Education met in a regular session Wednesday, January 19, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. and took the following action:

Clerk of Court, June Ray, was present to give the Oath of Office to Jim Francis, Waynesville Board seat recently vacated by Michael Sorrells.

Chairman Francis called the meeting to order and Vice Chairman Rogers gave the invocation and led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chairman Francis welcomed new Board member Jim Francis. Chairman Francis announced Board member Keith Wyatt had taken the Oath of Office on Thursday, January 13th in Dr. Garrett's office. The next Board meeting is scheduled for Monday, February 14th. Chairman Francis announced the Haywood County Schools Foundation Mardi Gras Ball will be held on March 5th.

Chairman Francis recognized JJ Dowdy, Boy Scout, for being present at the meeting to earn a merit badge.

Agenda adjustments included a calendar update by Fred Trantham.

Recognized 2010 Christmas Card winner, Gavin Levi Jones, Tuscola student, along with Donna Rhodes, art teacher.

Recognized Band Director Tim Wise and the Tuscola High School Band for an outstanding Band Season. Honors included: Andrew Dinwiddie, member of the US Army All-American Band (performing in San Antonio, Texas); Dobyns-Bennett Contest – 1st in Class, 1st in Percussion, and 1st in Color Guard; Enka Contest – 1st in Class, 1st in Color Guard; WCU Tournament of Champions – Class Champion and 10th place finalist; North Buncombe contest – 1st in Class, 1st in Color Guard, 1st in Percussion and overall Grand Champion.

Recognized Band Director Chris Ulery and the Pisgah High School Band for an outstanding Band Season. Honors included: Boiling Springs Band Competition, 3rd place class AA: Land of the Sky Marching Competition, Enka HS – 1st place band class AA: A/AA Grand Champion – for the 4th consecutive year; Mooresville Band Competition – Mooresville, NC – 1st place band class AA.

Recognized the Pisgah High School Varsity football team as Appalachian Athletic Conference Champions.

Andrew Dalton, PHS, was recognized as AAC Special Teams Player of the Year and David Pressley was recognized as AAC Coach of the Year.

Recognized the following teachers for receiving National Board Certification: Ron Anderson, WMS; Armando Basulto, HES; Tyler Beamer, HEC; Cindy Blankenship, BES; Connie Chambers, JES; Carol Clark, HES; Melissa Collins, BES; Erica Ferguson, WMS; Karie Francoeur, THS; Teresa Heinz, PHS; Will Hicks, NCE; Debbie Howell, CLY; Annette Husson, WMS; Casey Kruk, PHS; Colleen Marks, CHHS; Amanda McCoy, CMS; Jennifer Mehaffey, WMS; Kelly Nassis, NCE; Anna Price, WMS; Tara O-Loughlin, WMS; Karla Phillips, WMS; Ethan Rhinehart, THS; Samantha Silvers, NCE; Joy Sollie, THS; and Renee White, CLY.

Recognized the following teachers for National Board Certification *Renewal*: Kelly Boone, PHS; Shannon Hanson, PHS; Deb Jones, HEC; Karen Kreitzburg, WMS: Susie Nassis, RES; and Sandra Ross. RES.

Approved December 13, 2010 closed and regular session minutes and January 4, 2011 closed and called session minutes.

Heard a calendar update from Fred Trantham. Chairman Francis expressed his and the Board's gratitude to faculty and staff for their willingness to use Saturday, January 29th as the protected workday in order for January 28th to be a scheduled student day.

Approved the following Board policies; C-01 Graduation Requirements; SA-13 Student Accountability; SA-14 Homeless: P-01 Hours of Personnel: and P-15 Employee Leave.

Tabled the following policy until the next regular meeting to allow for public input: *P-04 Voluntary Shared Leave.*

Appointed Brian Briggs to the Haywood Community College Board of Trustees.

Approved the Interlocal Agreement with the County Recreation Department.

Approved the Folkmoot Lease.

Approved the 2009-2010 audit as presented by Larry Smith. Mr. Smith expressed his thanks to the bookkeeping department and to school bookkeepers for all of their hard work.

Approved regular monthly financial reports.

Heard the following personnel items and took action necessary:

Separation from Employment

Name	Position	School	Effective
Meg Reeves	Science Teacher	WMS	4/01/11
R. Margaret Russell	Bus Driver	THS	1/14/11
Leeann Davis	Tutor	WMS	1/18/11

Employee Status Change for information (for approval)

Employee	Chg from	Chg to	Effective
Robin Graf*	Clerical/Recpt CO 10-mos	Clerical CO 12-mos	1/10/11
Matthew Golden*	Remediation Asst. CMS	Math Teacher BMS	1/20/11
Amy Brown*	Prt-time CTE Teacher	Fulltime CTE Teacher CHHS	1/27/11
Linda Kay Belk*	Rbnd - 4hrs	Juna - 5hrs	1/18/11

(*change in time and/or salary)

Employment

Name	Position	School	Effective
Anne Hockenberry	Interim EC Teacher-Bridges	CES	1/10/11
Austin Kyle Wyatt	Bus Monitor Prt-tm tmp	JUN	1/04/11
Whitney McLean	Interim Teacher Asst	JVE	1/03/11
Tanna Timbes	Interim Teacher	BES	1/10/11
Annette Wasbaugh	Part-time Child Nutrition	SFS	1/20/11
James Trammell	Bus Driver (Bus #126)	THS	1/18/11
Howard Buchanan	Remediation Asst	CMS	1/20/11
Amanda Wells	Part-time Title 1 Asst 19.5hrs	CLY	1/20/11
Deedee Haas	Part-time Title 1 Tutor	CLY	1/03/11
Shane Green	Custodian	THS	1/17/11
Stephanie Hilbert	Interim EC teacher	JUN	1/21/11
Nancy Beeker	Interim Principal	PHS	2/01/11

Coaching Contracts

Name	Purpose	School	Season
Brandon Dodson	Head Track Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Jody Ward	Assistant Softball Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Kitty Eaker	Head Girls' Soccer Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Cheryl Worley	Head Girls' Track Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Ben Stanley	Assistant Track Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Kelsey Shepherd	Assistant Girls' Track Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
John McGuire	Head Boys' Baseball Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Steve Ray	Assistant Track Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Danny Clements	Golf Coach	WMS	Spring 2011
Josh Gibbs	JV Softball Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Missy Gentry	Assistant Softball Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Caleb McConnell	Head Baseball Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Erik McConnell	Asst. Baseball Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Mike Gentry	Head Softball Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Rick Pennebacker	Tennis Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Baron Rogers	JV Baseball Coach	THS	Spring 2011
Rhonda Haney	Head Softball Coach	WMS	Spring 2011

Volunteer Agreement

Name	Purpose	School	Season
Billy McConnell	Assistant Baseball	THS	Spring 2011
Jennifer Pitts	Assistant JV Softball	THS	Spring 2011
Manny Istrante	Assistant JV Girls' Soccer	THS	Spring 2011
Jamey Gibbs	Assistant Girls Softball	THS	Spring 2011
Danny Kirkpatrick	Asst. JV/Var.Girls Softball	THS	Spring 2011
Ashley Steinel	Asst. JV/Var. Girls Softball	THS	Spring 2011

Substitute

Name	Status	Position	Effective
Howard Buchanan	Certified	Substitute Teacher	01/10/11
Bill Hartter	Bus substitute	Bus driver substitute	1/10/11
Susan Sluder	SFS substitute	Child Nutrition Substitute	1/20/11
Kirby James	Non-certified	Substitute Teacher	1/20/11
Matthew Sanderson	Non-certified	Substitute Teacher	1/20/11
Melanie Verno	Certified	Substitute Teacher	1/20/11
Belinda Wood	Non-certified	Substitute Teacher	1/20/11