Sunset-Waterrock Knob General Information


Programs and Services

Maps and Directions

Employment Opportunities

Haywood County is located in the mountains of Western North Carolina.  With a population of approximately 57,000 people, Haywood County is the third largest county in Western North Carolina including the towns on Canton, Clyde, Maggie Valley, and Waynesville.

Haywood County Schools (HCS) serves 6,499 students enrolled in grades pre-kindergarten to early college. HCS is the largest school system west of Buncombe County, with 15 schools – 8 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, 2 comprehensive high schools, 1 alternative high school, and 1 early college.